Pearson / Updates

USELESS POST IS USELESS (not anymore : D)

IDK I AM KIND OF TOO TIRED TO POST MUCH.

THIS IS A LOUSY POST, I’M SORRY ): I HAVE PHOTOS, BUT I HAVE JUST GOTTEN INTO VICTORIA FROM SEATTLE, ANYWAY (THE FERRY RIDE WAS : D) AND AND IT IS REALLY BEAUTIFUL. LIKE, YEAH. LIKE YOU HAVEN’T SEEN BEAUTIFUL UNTIL YOU’VE SEEN IT? IT MEANT NOTHING TO ME WHEN I READ THAT IT WAS ON ALL THE WEBSITES AND GUIDEBOOKS BUT WHEN I DROVE IN ON A TAXI IT WAS LITERALLY BREATHTAKING.

IDK, SCARY AT NIGHT THOUGH; I FEEL VULNERABLE. BUT SO PRETTY, OKAY. AND THE SEAGULLS. I LOVE SEAGULLS. AND THE BOYS. YES. OKAY. UM. NOT TOO MANY CUTE BOYS IN VICTORIA ITSELF THOUGH, BUT THERE’S ALWAYS UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA.

IN ANY CASE, I MISS YOU GUYS ): TELL ME RANDOM THINGS IN YOUR LIFE, PLS.

E.T.A. BECAUSE I AM NOT V. SLEEP NOW. UM. BUT I DO NEED TO SLEEP SOON BUT I DON’T WANT TO FORGET WHAT I WANT TO SAY.

1. Victoria is really pretty. I went to downtown Seattle today to check out the marketplace there, and that was awesome too! I (I have photos, but some other time!) All the fresh fruits and produce and the various kinds of seafood and meat \o/ The weather was fabulous today, sunny and cool and I like my scarf very, very much : D

(The fruit-seller mostly just stand there holding a golden peach in his hand and cutting slices off to hand to passerbys. There are florists, too, except calling them florists sounds so commercial; the flowers are pretty and cheap enough and you can smell them from five stalls away.)

2. I had Subway for dinner tonight because we checked into a hotel some distance away from the downtown area (cab fare here is really expensive! It’s like 10 cents per 55 metres, which is like, what) and most shops close at 3 PM here (rush hour is from 3 PM – 6 PM here as well as in Seattle, can you believe !) so we just walked down a couple of streets to Subway. They give out two smaller cookies instead of the one in Singapore, and I had this amazing Italian herb and cheese bread that was really flavourful and satisfying.

The point of mentioning dinner was because when we walked back to the hotel after that, I felt really unsafe and vulnerable and uneasy; the thought of getting killed does cross my mind more frequently though, but I cannot really tell if that’s just my paranoia or the genuine atmosphere here, because after all, suburban Seattle and Victoria are pretty low-key areas, and I’d assume the crime rates are fairly low, probably comparable to Singapore. Whether it’s true or not though, my perception is certainly real, and I mean – everyone knows enough to say that Singapore is safe and while the price for that may be a relative lack of freedom (as is often said), it is easy to dismiss PAH, SAFETY, THAT’S GREAT, but it’s very different when you actually have to walk down five streets in relative darkness with quickened steps because you don’t know if the guy behind you IS ACTUALLY STALKING YOU ):

(I feel more conscious of my Asian-ness too! IDK, maybe it’s just all the cultural stereotypes; I find myself bracing for racism sometimes – though not in direct contact with the people here, just WHEN IT IS DARK AND I HAVE TO WALK PLACES WITH NO OTHER PEOPLE AROUND. I think it’s mostly my paranoia, but.

, I still want my bottle of Mace!)

3. I spend time with my parents’ friend and her husband in Seattle, because they lived there, so they helped us around. It’s funny, because (without going into the details at the moment because I want to sleep) all for the idea we have of Westerners as modern and world-experienced (well, the general instinctive association, at least – with me /o\), it is probable that a lot of them actually aren’t, or less so than we think. In a way, I suspect it’s because we’re so small that we’re forced to look outwards, but if you’re American or Canadian or anything else, you could travel through your region and spend long years there without knowing much about the outside world (I remember being so shocked that most Americans don’t even have a proper passport, just their driver licenses which gets them through the states and also to Canada, and that’s the places most people go most often, anyway.)

Yet at the same time that that’s changing, more people are becoming more international, it’s not quite an ubiquitous trend at the moment. My parents and I took a ferry to Victoria from Seattle and the customs people asked us for a visa and frowned when we explained we were from Singapore and that we didn’t need a visa to enter Canada; they had to go check in the end, and my mom said probably they’ve not met a Singaporean on this route before. But we were in an Italian restaurant the night before and the server heard us speaking Chinese and she told us she actually spent two years in China working, and that she loved Chinese food \o/

(#1513 good thing about Singapore: easy entry into major Western countries! It really makes things a lot more convenient at immigration when we just breeze through.)

In any case, photo uploads didn’t really work so – going to sleep now ): Hope ALL IS WELL WITH YOUR WORLD.

Leave a Reply

