Singapore

the things that make me happy (the things that don’t)

I am more comfortable with the latter, it seems. When people are (perceived to be, perhaps unintentionally) mean, I bristle and raise an eyebrow as if to say really? and I walk away prickling but unshaken and it is just easier to be scornful of the moment than it is to be engaging and interesting when people try to talk to you and they seem open to conversation and they smile and invite you in. (Keep busy; patience; places you want to go and things you want to do !)

IN OTHER NEWS: for Biology today, we went to Goldstream Park to (kind of) see the salmon run, except we didn’t go far enough upstream to see the salmon actually running and jumping, but we did see the stragglers and the dead and the gulls tearing strips off the fish, so that was pretty cool \o/ The smell wasn’t even that bad; it just smelt like regular fish. It made me crave (as a continuation from last night’s dinner, which was really good beef lasagne and salmon spaghetti, and as I was eating that, I just wanted sashimi so much) salmon, and I will! eat it when my parents come. Anyway, Goldstream was a gorgeous place – it’s a provincial park, and it’s basically a stream, hence the name. As we drove up on the expressway, we could see the part where it curved out to run alongside the road, and it was stunning; the water was clear and everything looked incredibly alive and healthy.


Photobucket

Most of my bio class.

Photobucket

There were some really huge, old trees there, hundreds of years old, and some of them had hollow cores and so Joe thought it would be a fabulous idea to crawl in.

Photobucket

Another hollow trunk!

Photobucket

This tree is important enough to have its own podium, ok.

Photobucket

Part of the stream!

Photobucket

The clean-up crew. Gulls feasting on the salmon.

Photobucket

You can see the group of fish trapped under the trunk, trying to go upstream fruitlessly. Their only hope is for a strong bout of rain to carry them over – otherwise, it’s a Darwinian death for them \o/ The thing is that when they go back up the stream to spawn, salmons apparently digest their own stomachs and organs to produce eggs and obtain enough energy to swim against the currents, so that by the time they reach the top, they’ve literally spent themselves. That’s – just, wow.

Photobucket

Dead salmon ):

Photobucket

A hungry gull.

Photobucket

The path.

Photobucket

I thought this photo looked magically green.

Photobucket

This was at the Visitor’s Centre.

Photobucket

I may have – actually thought this was a real menu for people for a brief, embarrassing period of time.

Photobucket

People walking in a line~

Photobucket

The amazing waterfall we saw. It was – part of the wonder was how small it seemed, how nondescriptly located, but all the grander for its lack of grandeur. It took me by surprise.

Photobucket

We got really close to it – you almost forget that it’s a awe-inspiring natural feature.

Photobucket

Bogani in the front looks like he’s falling backwards, but he isn’t, really.

After that was a rainy afternoon; I went kayaking, as I usually do on Mondays, but the rest of the group was in the pool practicing braces, and it was gusty and the wind howled and the waves were big enough that paddling was actually difficult, and after an hour, I kind of gave up and stopped. It was – triumphantly, I have to say, I AM GETTING USED TO THE WEATHER and so rowing in the rain felt almost exactly like rowing in the rain in Singapore, though it’s around 20 deg lower here, but adjustment(, eh)!

I am going to play the piano now, I think, and then do the homework I neglected over the weekend /irresponsible.

Leave a Reply

