Singapore

SO I MADE BROWNIES TODAY. GOD, DON’T KILL ME.

If nothing else, today wasn’t a wasted day because of that~ 

I made brownies today, after a three-year break from baking because of terribly failed attempts from my baking craze in Sec 2 (yes, I had one. No, you don’t know about it because it was a horrible failure) and they turned out to be good and !edible (ALL YOU CAN ASK FOR, REALLY) and awesome so that phobia has been cured.

I don’t have photos of the process, though, because I returned my camera to my host parents and I have this thing about asking for things, right, so I didn’t want to bother them by borrowing it again BUT IT’S OKAY. I made a batch of normal blueberry white chocolate brownies; the blueberries were surprisingly sweet and fresh, considering they had to be flown in. I also made a batch of gluten-free blueberry mocha brownies because my host mom is allergic to wheat, so I replaced wheat flour with a mix of corn starch, brown rice flour, almond meal and baking powder, which worked surprisingly well (considering all the dire internet warnings about how wheat-free baked goods tend to fall flat), though because I modified the recipe by adding 1/2 cup of coffee powder, it turned out a little more like cake than brownie, BUT I’M COUNTING THAT AS A WIN, NONETHELESS. The coffee was great, god.

… I will probably make a batch on Saturday to bring back to campus as a snack I MISS COFFEE.

So yeah, that’s basically all I did today. I woke up at 8.30 AM (A GENUINE FEAT) and then promptly read Inception fic until around 10.30 AM, when I fell back asleep, proceeding only to wake up at 1.30 PM, where I lounged around in bed untill 2 PM. I HAVE ONLY HAD A MEAL TODAY i am so proud of myself yet I am stuffed.

GUYS TELL ME ABOUT HOMECOMING/OPEN HOUSE HOW DOES IT FEEL BEING J2 YOU GUYS ARE OLD MAN ALMOST ABLE TO IMBIBE ALCOHOL GOSH.

Also, I am doing a possibly very me thing by listening to a recording of my own voice during a skype conversation with someone from Pearson last night, because I want to know what I sound like to other people, okay. And I fully admit, I apparently don’t pronounce end consonants, or any kind of consonants, really but I don’t slur either, and it’s not like my accent is terribly misshapen or obvious (in fact, if anything, I think my accent is more neutral than not, just not standard, obviously), though on some words, my pronunciations of them aren’t as accurate as I thought they were. It’s not a Singaporean accent anymore, though; that inflection is generally gone, though it’s definitely not Canadian either and  said it doesn’t sound like a fake one SO I HAVE A MONGREL ACCENT (like Tom Hardy heh heh heh I was watching this video of him yesterday and I flailed throughout because – his accent is so intriguing; it sounds like the one a Latino on campus has, which is strange, is it not, and Tom Hardy feels all self-assured but not cocky at the same time, kind of like the opposite of Eames. On that note, I watched half of 500 Days of Summer – I must add that I was a little disappointed – and I am constantly surprised at the changeabilty of JGL, notwithstanding that I know he’s acting.)

Now, my walk: 


Photobucket

CHECK OUT HOW FUNKY I AM HEH MY SHADOW IS MAKING A V-SIGN.

Photobucket

Back door to my host parents’ house. The entrance most frequently used, because the alarm is on the front door (kind of defeats the purpose of the front door, but it’s not my house, so~)

Photobucket

From the front! They have a pretty large back garden full of (planting) beds, but I don’t have photos of it.

Photobucket

Intersection right outside Oxford street.

Photobucket

The conveniently situated supermarket at the end of Oxford street, imaginatively named Oxford Supermarket. Lots of Chinese employees.

Photobucket

Pretty! I was wondering how safe it was for all the produce to be outside unguarded, but then again, who’ll do something so plebian as stealing organic vegetables, right.

Photobucket

SQUIRREL!!! I stood on the sidewalk for at least five minutes, taking uselesly similarly photos of the squirrel munching happily away and a video \o/

Photobucket

I like how the sun has a distinctly round shape here.

Photobucket

The plane! Check out my camera’s zoom function.

Photobucket

One of the ponds in Beacon Hill Park, the park a few minutes’ away from where I stay. It’s huge, and very scenic.

Photobucket

The fountain; isn’t it gorgeous?

Photobucket

DUCKS! DUCKS! DUCK! DUCKS! There was this absolutely precious toddler running around chasing all the ducks and gulls, it was hilarious.

Photobucket

DUCK UP CLOSE. WHOA.

Photobucket

DUCKS swarming around a tree. Don’t they look like bugs to you?

Photobucket

Pretty~

Photobucket

A PEACOCK.

Photobucket

A PRETTY WEIRD OCTO-TREE.

Photobucket

A PEACOCK … IN A TREE! WHOA.

Photobucket

The Olympic Mountains.

Photobucket

THEY HAVE ICY PEAKS. WHOA.

Photobucket

Sun! Hi there, sun!

Photobucket

There is a boat … and the sun, again. (Obviously, I am rapidly running out of witty commentary.)

Photobucket

I walked up the hill in the park to watch the sunset, but I had to wait a little. On the way up I was a little creeped out, because there was this guy in the bushes, against a tree, just standing. I was all like lol what is he doing there and then I looked a little too closely and I realized his hand wa … around his belt and it was moving in a really distinctive fashion and then … I looked away quickly and kind of strided away and I was so, so grateful when more people came so I wouldn’t be alone on the path. Argh.

(WELL I’M NOT SURE I REALLY SAW WHAT I DID mostly because it had to be just under zero out there, and I’m not sure perverts are willing to brave that kind of cold, but who knows, right.)

Photobucket

Boats!

Photobucket

THE SKY IS BURNING UP.

Photobucket

Ummm me being camwhory /o\ I only took three photos like that, promise!

Photobucket

The mansion at the end of the main road. Yes, a real mansion.

Photobucket

The main road Oxford Street ran to.

Photobucket

Prettyyyyyy.

Photobucket

Signage.

Photobucket

AND BONUS BLURRY OWL BECAUSE THE TREE IT WAS IN WAS TOO TALL. BUT AN OWL, K. IRL!

That is all. Have a good 2011, guys ♥

Leave a Reply

