Singapore

Easter weekend!

In the house alone while my friend is out at the movies with her best friend – some quiet, and math time, naturally. I might attempt to get the roughest skeleton of my history essay out too, if the mood strikes me. (I don’t think I’ve ever been this behind on a history essay before when I have had so much time to do it.)

This weekend has been a lark, a really chill summer-esque break, and as much as I’ve been acutely conscious of the slipping sands of time (intensified, admittedly, by the thought of F, it has passed relatively quickly (considering the way I dreaded the three days). Yesterday morning, we drove up to Nanaimo, the next largest city on the island after Victoria, and we mostly shopped a little, at Costco, had awesome pannini (toasted-till-crispy foccacia sandwiches) and frozen yogurt, cooed at pets in a pet shop (which had exotic animals like snakes and dragons and frogs and also this adorable, feisty white puppy that tried to lick me through the display window) and then lounged around at a sunny beach in a park. Then I did some math at night, Skyped my HK 2nd years in a very amusing conversation before retiring for the night. Dinner was at this amazing Asian restaurant – had tom yam soup, a piece of sake sashimi, a couple of amazing tuna rolls with an amazing blend of flavours (there was a slice of strawberry that just set the entire palette) and lamb satay with peanut sauce \o/

Photobucket

This is the lake! Long Lake. It is incredibly pretty – also reminds me of MacRitchie, especially since there’s a kayak/canoe club there too, and pontoons, but it’s a lot more open.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Today was amazingly begun by breakfast; her parents were far too kind and helpful (something I’m not used to~). We then went downtown to the waterfront, and the day was practically shimmery with heat, though at 13 deg, that means something different than you’d think. We walked around, the view was lovely; the ice-cream, too (moose tracks!). Nanaimo is fairly lovely, though small and not replete with shops, and I suppose – the charm comes through my foreign glasses. Lunch was awesome smoothies and crackers and good cheese, dinner was more awesome panninis. That said, I miss cooking. We also did some Easter crafts, made houses from felt sets.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The adorable tree in the yard. There’s a family of bunnies living around, apparently.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

+ a couple of photos from a walk I took when the weather was first gorgeous, at the break of winter.

Photobucket

Photobucket

On that note: I hope the photos are exciting, at least (probably not, and too many of them are of me, but.) I am going back to campus tomorrow, and then I only have two weeks till my exams, which actually do count towards university, so I am a little bit concerned and resolved to study. Therefore I am taking a two-week hiatus from Internet-based long-distance communication starting probably Sunday night ! D: 

(I am also going ice-skating tomorrow after lunch, after three hours of math in the morning, of course.)

Leave a Reply

