Singapore

I was reminded the other day that I’ve only been back in Singapore four days! My previous posts – I’m allowed a bit of moping, right? It hasn’t been long at all. I’ve kept quite busy, in any case. Been to two job interviews, gone back and forth on errands with my mom/spent time with my family, and have two trial job periods coming up, one for kitchen crew in a Japanese fast food place, fifteen hours over the next three days, and one on Saturday for a social arts organization with whom I did part of my home service last year. Sounds exciting …! They want me to be able to paint, though, so I’m not too sure about that. I’d been shying away from office work because I don’t like the idea of being cooped up in an office from 9-6 pm on weekdays, but having been exposed to the gruelling mid-morning sun today en route to breakfast, I grudgingly decided that perhaps office work will have its merits, after all. Depends on the pay too, I guess; my motives for summer employment are quite pecuniary at the moment. We’ll see how the interview with the job recruitment firm today goes.

Then I have lunches with people the next three days, and an early birthday dinner for my dad this Saturday, before my mom leaves for Beijing.

Meanwhile, have been keeping busy with articles of interest, particularly on the Economist, including an article about the inexplicable economic benefits of simply giving poor people hope for their future, another on the implications of scientific discoveries of incredible creatures that thrive in extreme conditions, and a really funny one on New York’s proposed state intervention in personal food consumption. The style’s great on the last one. The second one raised questions about humans’ designation of our living standards/requirements as the norm, and as I was reading it, I thought about the much-discussed disastrous consequences of global warming on us andourliving environments and how those necessitate drastic remedial action, but really, it’s just another form of evolutionary pressure and it’s hubris to worry that we’ll destroy the earth – the earth as we know it, probably, but the earth – existence!! – is so much bigger than anything we can even imagine. On a lighter note, the discovery of these extraordinary species also raise the possibility of alien life form! Exciting stuff. Sometimes I regret having specialized away from the sciences so early.

New English word I learnt: prelapsarian. Very fitting. Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s Vol de nuit is gorgeously lyrical – I’m only into the second chapter, though. Every time someone denigrates the English language as inferior in structure/complexity/dimension/subtlety to other languages (usually their native tongue), it strikes me as almost parochial, because your inability to appreciate the nuances of the language doesn’t mean that those nuances don’t exist. Reading the first chapter of that book didn’t really affect me initially. I understood the gist of the events, the narration, fine, but it felt opaque, unabsorbing. It was only until I started looking up the vocabulary and re-parsing the sentences, partly in English, that it struck me as incredibly moving, and even then, I’m pretty sure I’m still missing the full cultural resonance of it, inevitably. But words are still words, and lovely besides.

I’m so bad at remembering I have a phone now. Have received like, five missed calls from potential employers the past few days.

FUNNY STORY #1: (or, what I just realized)

I wrote down the address for my interview today on a scrap piece of paper, when the woman called. I cannot currently find that piece of paper.

FUNNY STORY #2: (or, my mom trying to subtly find out if I uh, engage in dubious physical acts of intimacy)

(car conversation with my mom)

Mom: I wanted three kids. You should have many kids.
Me: There is no way I am having three kids. I don’t even want kids.
Mom: Maybe you’ll have kids before you graduate from university!! (: (:
Me: … EWWWWWWWWW TAKE THAT BACK.

That would be an unmitigated disaster. My mom really wants a grandkid, though. Doesn’t bode well. I told her to wait for my brother, in about ten years.

 

Leave a Reply

