Singapore

情不自禁

The three things that mark my four days in Hong Kong: drinking water, using the bathroom, and buying tampons. Quite the illustrious list.

Flippancy aside, it was an exciting four days, with some of my favourite people in the world. I keep saying that, but it is true. The cold and very sore throat I rapidly developed halfway through the second day basically knocked me out of commission for the rest of the trip, and I was unfortunately cranky and listless and generally terrible company, which is quite regrettable. As a result, I didn’t get to see much of Hong Kong; the inexorably sticky heat was also very distracting. I arrived in Singapore grateful for the weather, for once. But I do like the mountains, and I do think I’ll like it more in the winter, and I do think I’ll return sometime soon. I don’t think I would want to live there, particularly – it is far more crowded than Singapore is, even at the latter’s worst, and I’m not from there, and I don’t even speak Cantonese (definitely want to learn, though! Love Cantonese pop songs.)

On the bus to the airport this afternoon, I told L that the worst thing about seeing Pearsonites was leaving them. At the same time as I seek respite from the heaviness, I do think it would be immeasurably sadder if departures eventually fail to inspire similar sentiments in the future. I constantly remind myself that it is a blessing to have found people it hurts so much to leave.

Sang karaoke for the first time! (Also had hot lemon coke with ginger for the first time! ALL THESE HK TVB DRAMA THINGS.) Both are very therapeutic. Nuggets of wisdom in all the Chinese songs, too – and the traditional Chinese characters train my Chinese vocabulary. This is a win-win all around, clearly.

This is my new earworm. They’re Canadian, of course. hold on when you get love and let go when you give it. Catchy title.

Leave a Reply

